top of page

She Has a Broken Thing Where Her Heart Should Be by J.D. Barker


What does an orphaned boy, a drug dealer, a little girl in a cemetery, a secret organization, three Philadelphia police detectives, mummified bodies, Great Expectations by Dickens, mutant abilities and August 8, have to do with each other? I CAN'T TELL YOU. As a book blogger, it’s sometime difficult to get psyched about a really long book. I was excited to get a chance to read this, but there are so many books to get through and there are deadlines! After walking by this book as it lay in my to-read #bookstack for literally months, I finally picked it up on a weekend when I had nothing planned. I’m so glad I had nothing to do – because nothing else would have gotten done!

You know those books that completely immerse you in their own world? Those books whose characters you know are real somewhere, in some universe? This is one of THOSE books. These 800+ page were not enough! Humor, heart, mysteries, blood and quirky characters abound in these pages. I love Dickens and this FEELS like a modern Dickens. I don’t know if that’s what J.D. Barker intended. But I hope so.

Do yourself a favor and read this.


Rating: 95/100 or ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



(Psst...this book is a Kindle Unlimited title right now, if you want to sample Barker's writing. Then plan on buying the entire 4MK Thriller trilogy because it is also amazing!)


(A review copy of this title was provided by the publisher.)

15 views0 comments
bottom of page