top of page

Top 10 books I'm dying to read in 2020 (Part 2, April-June)




Well, 2020 definitely hasn't started out as expected. You'd think with all the time at home, I'd have gotten my most-anticipated books of January-March read already. But I still have three left to read! I just can't seem to settle on anything for too long.


How about you? How's your reading been since most of the world has been in quarantine?


I know I'm a little late with an anticipated April-June 2020 list, but you're getting one anyway because there are some really great books coming your way. The following is a list of the 10 books I'm most looking forward to reading in the second quarter of 2020 (April/May/June 2020). You should be watching for them, too!


I've included links to the titles in Goodreads, the U.S. release date and the reason I am looking forward to reading it. The books are in order of release date.


Are you looking forward to any of these? What else needs to be on my list? Tell me #allthebooks you want to read!


Books to look forward to in April/May/June 2020


Bone Harvest by James Brogden

April 7, 2020

James Brogden is an Australian author that I happened upon in early 2018 and I've read everything I could get my hands on of his in the U.S. since then. His voice is unique, and you always know when you are reading a Brogden horror book. Bone Harvest is about a "an ancient cult wreaking bloody havoc on the modern world." (This was originally set to be published in May, but I just saw it was available now - and bought it immediately.)

 

If It Bleeds by Stephen King

April 20, 2020

It's Stephen King. I'll read whatever he puts out, and this newest book of short stories is in the mail for me right now.



 

Boy in the Box by Marc E. Fitch

April 23, 2020

Flame Tree Press has put out some consistently good horror titles since it started in 2018. I haven't read Fitch before, but this new title about a hunting accident, a return to the site of the accident and a trap set by a supernatural being that demands a sacrifice sounds great!

 

The Master's Apprentice by Oliver Pötzsch

April 28, 2020

I've been a fan of Oliver Pötzsch since 2008 when I started The Hangman's daughter series. (If you haven't read it and you enjoy stories about the Middle Ages and kick-ass women, then you should read it.) The Master's Apprentice is a retelling of the Faust legend, where a man makes a pact with the Devil at a crossroads, exchanging his soul for unlimited knowledge and worldly pleasures.

 

Shakespeare for Squirrels by Christopher Moore

May 12, 2020

Christopher Moore's Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ's Childhood Pal is one of my all-time favorite books ever. Really. This new title will be my 11th Moore read! Rarely does Moore disappoint, so really looking forward to reading this tale of a Midsummer Night’s noir.


 

May 12, 2020

American stand-up comedian, Tom Papa, is a gem! I read his book, Your Dad Stole My Rake: And Other Family Dilemmas in 2018, and I can't wait to read what else he's come up with since. If you enjoy Kevin Kling or David Sedaris, you'll love Tom Papa.


 

Catherine House by Elisabeth Thomas

May 12, 2020

This is a debut novel and I only know as much about it as stated in the Goodreads description: "Combining the haunting sophistication and dusky, atmospheric style of Sarah Waters with the unsettling isolation of Kazuo Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go, Catherine House is a devious, deliciously steamy, and suspenseful page-turner with shocking twists and sharp edges that is sure to leave readers breathless." Doesn't that sound great?!

 

June 16, 2020

Max Brooks is finally back, and this time humanity is not fighting zombies (See: World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War). It's MAN vs. BIGFOOT in this newest book, and believe me when I tell you this is no Harry and The Hendersons. I've just finished this, so make sure to watch for my review.

 

The Hollow Ones by Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan

June 23, 2020

Have you watched The Strain or read the books? "From the authors who brought you The Strain Trilogy comes a strange, terrifying, and darkly wondrous world of suspense, mystery, and literary horror" about a rookie FBI agent and a man whose lived for centuries whose either evil or insane...or man's best hope.

 

Home Before Dark by Riley Sager

June 30, 2020

I finally got around to reading Riley Sager and understand the hype now. This newest book out at the end of June is about a woman whose father is a horror author and the haunted-or-not-house that made her father famous.

 

These are all sitting on my shelves right now or in the mail on their way to me. So, follow me on social media or visit often to see my reviews of these as I read them. Thanks to all the publishers who have sent advanced reader's copies (ARCs) of the above mentioned books!


25 views0 comments
bottom of page