top of page

The Best (Weird) Books of the 2010s


I receive a lot of ARCs (advance reading copies) and for that reason, and because space, I don’t keep many of the books. For the same reasons, I try not to buy many books. But these books, I either kept after reading and reviewing or if I received an e-arc, I actually went out to buy. All of these books are from the 2010s and have a permanent home on my bookshelf.


Seeing this list, I realize that I definitely gravitate toward the weird books! Each one has a strange little element to it, are beautifully written and will take your breath away with their brilliance. You should read them!


(The links below will take you to either my Instagram post about the book or my review on Goodreads.)


Thunderhead by Neal Shusterman

Tell the Machine Goodnight by Katie Williams

Smashed by Junji Ito

The Winter People by Jennifer McMahon

Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders

Reincarnation Blues by Michael Poore

Melmoth by Sarah Perry

The Sellout by Paul Beatty

Hark! The Herald Angels Scream edited by Christopher Golden

Lost Boy by Christina Henry

A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

Space Unicorn Blues by T.J. Berry

The Bedlam Stacks by Natasha Pulley

3 views0 comments
bottom of page