top of page

The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

Updated: Dec 27, 2019


new

(Warning for very mild spoiler...)


Full disclosure, I knew the huge twist (and bad guy) in the story before I read The Silent Patient.


Therefore, it’s difficult for me to tell you if the ending will surprise or not. I can tell you that I started the book because I was curious about all the hype and didn’t think I’d bother to finish it. And…I ended up reading the entire thriller in one day. I also really enjoy books set in a mental institution of any kind, so this story was in my wheelhouse from the get-go.


If you don’t already know the premise of this book, a well-known artist kills her husband and immediately goes silent. No communication of any kind. Not even to defend herself – because did she really kill the husband that she adored and doted on? Most of the story is told by the new doctor who believes he can cure the artist and make her speak. (Messiah complex, anyone?) Pretty simple premise, really. But the execution is interesting and there were still enough little surprises that I didn’t mind knowing the ending. If you haven’t read it already and you are a thriller fan, than what are you waiting for?


(A preview copy of this book was provided by the publisher.)


Rating: 80/100


Buy it now at Barnes & Noble | Amazon | IndieBound

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page