top of page

The Plus One by Sarah Archer

Kelly is an almost-30, super socially awkward, robotics engineer whose mother keeps reminding her she's not getting any younger. After one more disastrous blind date, and with her sister's wedding looming, Kelly decides to just MAKE her dream man. Supposed hilarity ensues.

This is not the kind of book I’m usually drawn to, but who hasn't fantasized about the perfect significant other? Wouldn’t it be nice if he/she lived to make you happy and agreed with everything you said? Maybe…not.


There were many times that this book verged on greatness. Just got right there...and then didn't follow through. That being said, this is a well-written book about a young woman who has a lot of difficulty with relationships, be it with friends, lovers or family. I think that a lot of people will find this to be a really lovely book.

I think that I probably would have enjoyed this more if:

  1. I hadn't read Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine before this one, where the same story of social awkwardness is played out with so much heart and smarts it's breathtaking; and

  2. I didn't read so much horror that it has jaded me to a “normal love story."

Rating: 60/100 or ⭐⭐1/2


11 views0 comments
bottom of page