top of page

Verses for the Dead (Pendergast #18) by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child

Updated: Dec 27, 2019


43212683

(Contains some slight spoilers.)


I realize that everyone has different tastes and just because I hate a book, it doesn’t mean that you will. Also, I appreciate authors for their hard work and the guts they have to put their work out there. But sometimes, a book makes me very angry.


Unfortunately, this book lacks any sort of cohesive mystery. My favorite serial characters are again absent. I am also severely disappointed in the fact that they chose to WRITE A LAST CHAPTER EXPLAINING THE ENTIRE CRIME instead of writing the actual clues into the book.


Preston and Child seem to understand that we will buy their Pendergast books regardless. Obviously, we all love Pendergast and hope that the next book in the series will be as good as the one that got us hooked. So, let me say this, "Authors, if you are bored with your characters, just stop writing them. Give us a book with a nice, going-away, this-is-the-last-you’ll-see-of-me story arc and we will grieve for a while and then thank you for it."


My god, I hope I can resist the temptation to buy the next in the series so I don’t have to experience this deep sense of disappointment again.


(HOWEVER the narrator of this audio book, Rene Auberjonois, is FANTASTIC as always, so I will need to listen to some of his others to now get my fix.)


Rating: 20/100


Buy this book (if you must) at Barnes & Noble | Amazon | IndieBound

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page