top of page

The Pretenders by Rebecca Hanover


(The Pretenders is the 2nd book in the The Similars duolagy. Check out my review of that book on Instagram by clicking here.)


Sometimes, you’re just not in the right head-space for the book you currently have in your hands. Or, maybe it’s just not a great book? Do you think mood effects how you feel about a book?


At the end of The Similars, Emma had rescued one friend and left another behind. This time around, Emma is hoping her senior year at Darkwood Academy will be…normal. Unfortunately, the first meeting of the Ten guarantees it won’t be. There might be kidnappings, lots more clones and some twists you don't see coming, but I won't say, because I don't want to ruin it.

Unfortunately, this book was a miss for me. I felt like the story-line was super similar to the first, with the same types of villains and plot points. I am willing to admit that I may not have been in the mood for it, and that it deserves a better rating. But, I definitely lost patience with it and skimmed a bunch at the 3/4 mark. I just didn't care and had already figured out the ending. So worth a quick read to finish the story started in the first, but probably don't rush out to buy it. Bummer.


Rating: 30/100 or ⭐⭐


22 views0 comments
bottom of page